Hunting Rabbits

This is a new print using a combination of linocuts and paper lithography. I’ve been working on adding more layers to my prints lately, adding more color, and using techniques that help me to be more spontaneous, experimental, and loose. Paper litho is a really fun process using xerox copies, gum arabic, water and ink (I used it to create the crochet pattern in the background). This print is inspired by a story my mom told me recently about her grandmother–hunting while she was pregnant and having a miscarriage after carrying a deer by herself.  The photograph of the woman shooting a rifle came from Life magazine–it helped me to draw the facial expression and posture of holding the gun.

One thought on “Hunting Rabbits

Leave a Reply

