daydreaming

I’m currently dreaming up ideas for a new project:  I do that by sifting through my notebooks were I’ve  scribbled notes, clipped pictures, doodled, and by looking at other artwork that I find inspiring. I’m hoping to create a variety of pieces that communicate my feelings about “home,” and I just might try my hand at some 3 dimensional work…here are some things that i’m really digging right now:

check out more of Shane Waltner’s work at http://www.shanewaltener.com/index.html,  Mariah Johnson at http://www.mariahjohnson.com/, and Monica Cook at http://www.monicacookart.com/index.html

The majority of my work is figurative, but I keep feeling a really strong attraction to work that references nature or parts of our environment, and uses materials or techniques to do so that are both beautiful and full of emotions and history.  If I remember correctly, Monica Cook’s self-portrait above is painted on old mattress fabric, and Mariah Johnson uses bed sheets that she buys second hand. I love the idea of using materials that have such intimate, evocative associations.

Leave a Reply

