Long overdue sewing class

We’re back in Georgia now, and while it does feel like a homecoming it’s never easy to relocate, at least not for a nester like me. So John, being the sweetheart that he is, encouraged me to sign up for a sewing class that I had read about at the Beehive Collective here in Atlanta, as he thought it would be a good break from the full time job searching that I would be doing once we arrived. Boy was he right. I’d been wanting to take a sewing class for so long but had never invested the time or money into learning the right way to do things, and this class taught me how to read a pattern, make adjustments for a better fitting garment, and sew a zipper! Our class project was the Schoolhouse Tunic from Sew Liberated, and I decided to take this opportunity to design and print a pattern for it. It took me about one full day to figure out the best way to register this and to make my jig (this part of printing always takes me the longest, but then if it’s done well makes the printing so much easier!). I printed 3 yards, and plan on printing some more colorways of this pattern soon for other projects and my soon to be launched etsy shop.

Also, I got to use my new dress form for the first time! My good friend and awesome seamstress Jody McLean and I teamed up to make custom dress forms using paper tape (here’s a tutorial if you want to try! http://makingitwell.blogspot.co.nz/2012/03/i-made-my-own-dress-form.html). We thought about making a plaster cast and then using that to make the dress form, which would have looked much nicer, but would have taken longer and been a lot more expensive. Here’s the tutorial for that one http://lulushion.blogspot.com/2011/05/cast-yourself-or-making-of-dress-form.html. The next thing I’m thinking of making is shorts–I can’t ever find shorts that fit right! And that’s what is so awesome about knowing how to sew!

Oh, another cool thing about my sewing class–the instructor was Brooke Helfen, one of John’s housemates from college in Athens. It was a fun surprise to run into her again, and she’s a great teacher and runs her own business making clothes! Here’s her site http://soshesews.com/

 

One thought on “Long overdue sewing class

  1. Wow Sabeth – I love the new print and the beautiful shirt! It’s great to see what you’ve been up to. Can’t wait to see more!

Leave a Reply

