embroidery

Hey Y’all! Merry Christmas! I absolutely love all the christmas lights and figurines all around the neighborhood, and I love bringing out my little motley crew of weird xmas dolls! So, I’ve been busily making little gifts here and there for the past month, and one of the things I’ve been working on is learning to embroider. I was really inspired by the work of Jenny Hart http://jennyhart.net/#_ after my friend Lindsay McCulloch http://www.lindsaymcculloch.blogspot.com/ posted about seeing the 40 under 40:Craft Futures show at the Renwick Gallery in DC this past September http://americanart.si.edu/exhibitions/archive/2012/renwick40/. Jenny Hart has a great tutorial on her site about basic stitches, and so I went out and got some pretty colors of floss and started playing. I decided to start with some iron on patterns, since I haven’t researched how to transfer my drawings onto fabric without permanently staining it, so I found a lovely set with floral patterns and a little deer. I’m excited to try out some of my own drawings next!

One thought on “embroidery

Leave a Reply

